Department of Atomic Energy

The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) has been engaged in the development of nuclear power technology, applications of radiation technologies in the fields of agriculture, medicine, industry and basic research in India.

Soon after Independence, India began formulating a policy framework for its atomic energy programme. By early 1950s, India was eager to speed up this journey, and hence it was felt necessary to create a body that would usher the atomic energy programme into the realm of on-ground implementation by developing technologies for nuclear power and applications of radiation. Thus, in 1954, the Department of Atomic Energy was created, with Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha as its Secretary, under the direct charge of the Prime Minister through a Presidential order.

DAE comprises five research centers, three industrial organizations, five public sector undertakings and three service organizations. It has under its aegis two boards for promoting and funding extramural research in nuclear and allied fields, mathematics and a national institute (deemed university).

It also supports eight institutes of international repute engaged in research in basic sciences, astronomy, astrophysics, cancer research and education. It also has in its fold an educational society that provides educational facilities for children of DAE employees.


The vision of the Department of Atomic Energy is to empower India through technology, creation of more wealth and providing better quality of life to its citizens. This is to be achieved by making India energy independent, contributing towards providing sufficient, safe and nutritious food and better health care to our people through development and deployment of nuclear and radiation technologies and their applications.

Contact Person

Shri Arun Srivastava
Secretary, Atomic Energy Commission & Head,
Institutional Collaboration & Programs Division, NCPW,
Department of Atomic Energy, Mumbai


Phone: +91-9869367315 | +91-22 22023864

Social Links